The Attorney General Meets a Delegation from the Palestinian NGOs Forum Against Violence Against Women

Date:- 5/16/2016

Place:- Ramallah

​The Attorney General Dr. Ahmad Barrak held a meeting in his office today 26/5/2016 with a delegation from the Palestinian NGOs Forum Against Violence Against Women headed by the Forum coordinator Ms. Sabah Salameh, and in presence of the Family Protection from Violence Chief Prosecutor Ms. Darin Salheyeh.

Both sides discussed methods of cooperation and coordination with relation to the public prosecution's ambitions concerning gender based violence being a form of unequal power relations resulting from cultural patterns that are based on social norms and traditions. They also discussed the legal difficulties and gaps in handling cases related to women, and the public prosecution's role in prevention and protection towards limiting crime.

The Attorney General addressed the importance of establishing the family protection from violence prosecution which aimed at building the capacity of prosecutors in investigation and litigation. The meeting also addressed key components to focus on as civil society in working with women, namely electronic threat and blackmail, runaway girls, and the distribution of roles in terms of h​ealth and education considering they are the sectors that constitute the national referral system.

The Attorney General added that the public prosecution issued statistics on the killing of women during 2015, where the number of incoming cases to the public prosecution was seven. As for suicide and attempted suicide cases, the public prosecution stated that it is very unfortunate that such cases happen, however it followed a clear strategy in investigation such cases by broadening the investigations through calling for case conferences in this regard and distributing roles and responsibilities on all actors.

النائب العام يلتقي بوفد من منتدى المنظمات الاهلية الفلسطينية لمناهضة العنف ضد المرأة

التاريخ:- 16/05/2016

المكان:- رام الله

التقى النائب العام  د. أحمد براك في مكتبه اليوم 16/5/2016 وبحضور الاستاذة دارين صالحية رئيس نيابة حماية الاسرة من العنف بوفد من منتدى المنظمات الاهلية الفلسطينية لمناهضة العنف ضد المرأة ترأسه السيدة صباح سلامة منسقة المنتدى.

حيث بحث الطرفان سبل التعاون والتنسيق فيما يتعلق بتطلعات النيابة العامة لقضايا العنف المبني على النوع الاجتماعي على انه مظهر من مظاهر علاقات القوى الغير متكافئة لأنه​ ناجم عن انماط ثقافية مترتبة على العادات والتقاليد المجتمعية، وايضا تم الحديث عن الصعوبات القانونية والفجوات في التعامل مع قضايا النساء، ودور النيابة العامة في الوقاية والحماية للحد من وقوع الجريمة.

كما أشار النائب العام الى أهمية انشاء نيابة حماية الاسرة من العنف والتي عمدت الى بناء قدرات اعضاء النيابة العامة في التحقيق والترافع، كما تناول الاجتماع اهم المحاور التي يتوجب التركيز عليها كمجتمع مدني للعمل مع النساء ومن أهمها قضايا التهديد والابتزاز الالكتروني، وهروب الفتيات من المنزل، والتركيز على توزيع الادوار في الصحة والتعليم على اعتبار انها من القطاعات التي تشكل نظام التحويل الوطني.

وأضاف النائب العام، ان النيابة العامة عملت على اصدار احصائية حول قضايا قتل النساء للعام 2015، حيث بلغ عدد الملفات الواردة للنيابة العامة 7 ملفات، اما بالنسبة لقضايا الانتحار والشروع بها، فإن النيابة العامة تبدي أسفها على ضحايا الانتحار، وقامت باتباع استراتيجية محددة بالتحقيق بقضايا الانتحار من خلال التوسع بالتحقيقات المتخذة بالملف التحقيقي من خلال الدعوة لمؤتمرات الحالة المنعقدة بها الخصوص وتوزيع الادوار والمسؤوليات على جميع الاطراف.

​​