Closing Statement of the Public Prosecution’s Fifth Annual Conference 2014

Date:- 12/20/2014

Place:- Jericho

In the Name of God, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Closing statement of the Public Prosecution's fifth annual conference

The Public Prosecution ended the activities of its fifth annual conference, under the auspices of HE the President of the State of Palestine Mahmoud Abbas, which was held in Jericho in the period 18-20/12/2014 and entitled "The Public Prosecution: Reality, Challenges and Prospects". All prosecutors in the West Bank participated in the conference, while Gaza Strip prosecutors were not able to participate due to the Israeli blockade and not providing them with the required permits. We hope that they would be amongst us in the coming conference.

The conference was opened with a speech by Prime Minister Dr. Rami Al-Hamdallah, on behalf of HE President of the State of Palestine Mahmoud Abbas, through which he affirmed the support if the President and the Palestinian government to the Public prosecution in its efforts in fighting all types of crime, prosecuting perpetrators and achieving justice and security for the Palestinian public, especially within the complex conditions the country is going through locally, regionally and internationally. He also valued the achievements of the Public Prosecution during the past period. The representative of UNDP Mr. Frody Moring also presented a speech in which he stressed on the necessity of continuing support to the Public Prosecution through supporting its programs and plans and the capacity building of its staff. He valued the role and achievements of the Public Prosecution in fighting crime and achieving security and stability to the public. On his part, Chief Justice Judge Ali Muhanna stressed in his speech that the Public Prosecution is part of the Palestinian judiciary. He congratulated prosecutors on holding this conference and stressed on the strong complementary relation between the prosecution and the judiciary.

Mr. Rafiq Al-Natsheh, president of the Anti-corruption Commission also presented a speech in which he noted that the ACC and the Public Prosecution give all in their power to cooperate and complement each other's work in fighting corruption and prosecuting perpetrators. The Jordanian Attorney General who was a guest at the conference also presented as speech stressing on the strong relations between the Jordanian and Palestinian peoples and the support of His Majesty King Abdullah to the Palestinian people and their just causes. He also stressed that the strong relations between the judicial authority in Jordan and Palestine, including the public prosecution, will continue through this conference. Another speech was presented by the Attorney General of the State of Palestine Judge Abdul Ghani Al-Eweiwi, in which he extended his appreciation to prosecutors for their efforts and contributions in achieving justice and security to the Palestinian people. He also affirmed the strong relations between justice sector institutions, and that the Public Prosecution will build on its work in capacity development in different aspects.

The conference was attended by representatives from the justice sector institutions including the President of the Military Judiciary Major General Ismail Farraj, as well as diplomats, representatives from security services, universities, civil society organizations and a number of academicians, in addition to international projects supporting the public prosecution.

The conference addressed several issues that are of importance to the work of the Public Prosecution through discussion papers that were presented and the closed sessions that were held. One of the most important issues discussed was the prospects of cooperation with the High Judicial Council, as this issue was addressed in a closed session between Chief Justice Ali Muhanna and Attorney General Abdul Ghani Al-Eweiwi. In addition to a closed session held between prosecutors, the Attorney General and his deputies to discuss the daily and future challenges.

In addition to the other papers presented on vital topics such as the cooperation between the Appeals prosecution at the OAG and district prosecution offices, the role of the Public Prosecution in the recent legislative amendments, gender issues and juvenile justice, human rights and how coherent Palestinian laws are with the International Humanitarian Law, administrative cases and mechanisms of cooperation with legal departments at governmental bodies, the reality and concepts of fighting corruption in Palestine, the mechanism of cooperation between the Public Prosecution and the Financial Follow-up Unit, the role of the Public Prosecution in prosecuting economic crimes, examining witnesses before courts, the International Criminal Court and the Palestinian judicial move towards trying war criminals, enforcing penal and civil decisions, the Public Prosecution Administrative Staff Manual and unification of procedures, the Public Prosecution's strategic approach, the electronic services provided through the portal, and infrastructure and future projects.

The conference reached a number of conclusions as follows:

1.    The Public Prosecution affirms its support to HE President Mahmoud Abbas and the Palestinian leadership's vision in their approaches aiming at ending the occupation and achieving justice and equality before the law between all without any favoritism or delay. It also stresses on its technical and logistic readiness for the requirements of the coming phase despite the complexities imposed by the occupation, and it denounces the attack on law enforcement services, the judiciary, the public prosecution, and the Anti-corruption Commission and the seconded prosecution there stressing on the support of all prosecutors and the Attorney General to the ACC and that the prosecution will firmly face this attack in order to be able to achieve its message in enforcing accountability.

2.    The Public Prosecution stresses on the necessity to prosecute Israeli war criminal for all the crimes they have committed against the Palestinian people, and that it supports all efforts in this regard and values all activities of the public prosecution in documenting the committed war crimes. The Public Prosecution stresses on the need to start preparing files on these crimes in order to submit them to the competent international judicial bodies in the near future.

3.    The Public Prosecution stresses that it will continue the administrative development process which will in turn expedite processing administrative applications, establish electronic follow-up and organization system, connecting district prosecution offices in the public prosecution's strategic plan while continuing the development of infrastructure and guaranteeing that it meets the needs of gender and human rights.

4.    Strengthen partnership and complementation with all educational, social and governmental institutions , namely the judiciary, the Ministry of Justice, security, lawyers, the Palestinian Monetary Authority and all partners through MOUs and joint projects aiming at the provision of the best services to the public and guarantee access of all categories of the society to justice, which enables the public prosecution to achieve its mission, leading to raising the professional and theoretical capacity of prosecutors.

5.    The Public Prosecution stresses on the importance of international cooperation in prosecuting all types and forms of crime, and calls on the Palestinian government to provide it with competent staff in this regard.

6.    The Public Prosecution stresses on the necessity of speeding the issuance of modern laws that respond to the challenges facing the Palestinian society and assist the prosecution in investigating crimes and prosecuting perpetrators, and in providing all the technical capacity related to investigations, particularly the labs needed to examine evidence.

7.    The Public Prosecution stresses on the necessity of continuing strengthening relations with the partners in the Economic Crimes Task Force in order to promote the capacity of prosecutors in fighting this type of crimes that has become an immediate and increasing danger on the Palestinian economy and the security of the Palestinian society.

At the end of the conference, the Public Prosecution tales this opportunity to extend its appreciation and gratitude to HE President Mahmoud Abbas for his unlimited support, the Prime Minister for honoring us with opening the conference which reflects the governments vision and desire to continue supporting and developing the justice sector, the High Judicial Council and all its members and the Ministry of Justice and donors for their continued support to the Public Prosecution, namely the Canadian Government through Sharaka Project, the US Government through INL, the State Department, JSAP, and EUPOLCOPPS. We would also like to extend our sincere appreciation to the UNDP for funding this conference. Much appreciation also goes to the Hashimite Kingdom of Jordan, the Kingdom of Morocco, Egypt, UAE, and Bahrain.

Issued in Jericho on 20/12/2014

Thank you….

 

Attorney General

Judge/ M. Abdul Ghani Al-Eweiwi

البيان الختامي للمؤتمر السنوي الخامس للنيابة العامة 2014

التاريخ:- 20/12/2014

المكان:- أريحا

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

البيان الختامي للمؤتمر السنوي الخامس للنيابة العامة

انهت النيابة العامة الفلسطينة فعاليات مؤتمرها السنوي الخامس تحت رعاية فخامة رئيس دولة فلسطين السيد محمود عباس حفظه الله والذي عقد في مدينة اريحا في الفترة ما بين 18-20/12/2014 تحت عنوان (النيابة العامة .... واقع ، تحديات وآفاق) وشارك في فعاليات المؤتمر جميع اعضاء النيابة العامة في المحافظات الشمالية، وتغيب عن المؤتمر أعضاء النيابة العامة في المحافظات الجنوبية بفعل الحصار الاسرائيلي وعدم اعطاء التصاريح اللازمة، املين تواجدهم بيننا في المؤتمر القادم.

وقد تم افتتاح المؤتمر بكلمة دولة رئيس الوزراء الدكتور رامي الحمد لله ممثلا للرئيس محمود عباس رئيس دولة فلسطين والذي اكد من خلالها على دعم سيادة الرئيس والحكومة الفلسطينية للنيابة العامة في جهودها التي تبذلها في محاربة الجريمة بكافة اشكالها وملاحقة مرتكبيها وتحقيق العدالة والامن للمواطن الفلسطيني خاصة في ظل الظروف المعقدة التي يعيشها الوطن على الصعيد المحلي والاقليمي والدولي ومثمنا في الوقت ذاته انجازات النيابة العامة التي تم تحقيقها خلال المرحلة السابقة. وكذلك تم القاء كلمة من قبل السيد فرودي مورينغ ممثل برناج الامم المتحدة الانمائي والذي اكد على ضرورة استمرار دعم النيابة العامة من خلال دعم برامجها وخططها وبناء قدرات اعضائها مثمنا في الوقت ذاته الدور الذي تقوم به النيابة العامة الفلسطينية وما انجزته في مجال محاربة الجريمة وتحقيق الامن والاستقرار للمواطن الفلسطيني، كما تم القاء كلمة لسعادة القاضي علي مهنا رئيس مجلس القضاء الاعلى الذي اكد من خلالها على ان النيابة العامة جزء وشعبه من شعبة القضاء الفلسطيني مهنئا اعضاء النيابة بهذا المؤتمر ومؤكد على عمق العلاقة التكاملية ما بينها وبين القضاء.

وتحدث ايضا في المؤتمر سعادة الاستاذ رفيق النتشة رئيس هيئة مكافحة الفساد والذي اشار ان الهيئة والنيابة العامة لن يدخروا اي جهد في التعاون والتكامل كل حسب دوره في محاربة الفساد وملاحقة مرتكبيه بدون هوادة كما وحل ضيفاً على المؤتمر عطوفة رئيس النيابات في المملكة الاردنية الهاشمية والذي اكد على عمق العلاقة التي تربط الشعبين الاردني والفلسطيني ودعم جلالة الملك عبد الله بن الحسين للشعب الفلسطيني وقضاياه العادلة مؤكدا على استمرار العلاقة المتينة ما بين السلطة القضائية في الاردن وفلسطين ومنها النيابة العامة الفلسطينية بعقد مؤتمرها الخامس، اضافة لكلمة النائب العام لدولة فلسطين القاضي عبد الغني العويوي الذي شكر اعضاء النيابة العامة على جهودهم المبذولة في مساهمتهم بتحقيق العدالة والامن للشعب الفلسطيني كما اكد على عمق العلاقة بين مكونات قطاع العدالة في فلسطين. وان النيابة العامة مستمرة في مسيرتها بتطوير قدراتها على مختلف الصعد.

وقد حضر المؤتمر ممثلين عن كل اركان العدالة بمن فيهم رئيس هيئة القضاء العسكري سعادة اللواء القاضي اسماعيل فراج وممثلين عن السلك الدبلوماسي والاجهزة الامنية والجامعات ومنظمات المجتمع المدني ومجموعة من الاكاديميين ، اضافة الى الهيئات الدولية الداعمة للنيابة العامة .

وقد ناقش المؤتمر عدد من القضايا التي تهم عمل النيابة العامة من خلال اوراق العمل التي تم طرحها والجلسات المغلقة التي عقدت، وكانت اهم هذه القضايا هي افاق التعاون والتواصل مع مجلس القضاء الاعلى حيث تم تداول الموضوع في جلسة مغلقة بين المستشار د. علي مهنا والنائب العام القاضي عبد الغني العويوي ، اضافة الى جلسة مغلقة عقدت بين اعضاء النيابة العامة والنائب العام ومساعديه لمناقشة التحديات اليومية والمستقبلية .

اضافة لما تم تقديمه من اوراق عمل تناولت مواضيع محورية مثل التعاون بين دائرة الاستئناف في مكتب النائب العام والنيابات الجزئية، دور النيابة العامة في التعديلات التشريعية الاخيرة ، قضايا النوع الاجتماعي وعدالة الاحداث، حقوق الانسان ومدى انسجام القوانين المعمول بها في فلسطين مع القانون الدولي الانساني ، الدعاوي الادارية والحقوقية واليات التعاون مع الدوائر القانونية في الهيئات الحكومية، واقع ومضامين مكافحة الفساد في فلسطين، الية التعاون بين النيابة العامة ووحدة المتابعة المالية ، دور النيابة العامة في ملاحقة ومتابعة الجرائم الاقتصادية، مناقشة الشهود من الضابطة القضائية امام محاكم الجنايات، المحكمة الجنائية الدولية والتحرك القضائي الفلسطيني نحو محاكمة مجرمي الحرب ، تنفيذ الاحكام الجزائية والمدنية، دليل عمل اقلام النيابة العامة وتوحيد الاجراءات، التوجه الاستراتيجي للنيابة العامة اضافة الى الخدمات الاكترونية المقدمة من خلال البوابة الالكترونية والبنية التحتية والمشاريع المستقبلية.

 

وقد خرج المؤتمر بجملة من التوصيات أهمها:

  1. تؤكد النيابة العامة دعم رؤية سيادة الرئيس محمود عباس والقيادة الفلسطينية في توجهاتهم الرامية لانهاء الاحتلال وتحقيق العدالة والمساواه امام القانون بين الجميع ودون تميز او ابطاء، وتؤكد على استعدادها الفني واللوجستي لمتطلبات المرحلة رغم التعقيدات التي يخلقها المحتل وتدين الهجمة المشبوهة التي يتعرض لها جهاز انفاذ القانون القضاء والنيابة العامة وهيئة مكافحة الفساد والنيابة المنتدبة لدى الهيئة مؤكدين على دعم كافة اعضاء النيابة العامة والنائب العام لاعضائها وستتصدى لها بكل الوسائل القانونية وبكل حزم وثبات حتى تتمكن من تحقيق رسالة العدالة السامية اعمالاً لمبدأ المحاسبة والمساءلة.
  2. تؤكد النيابة العامة الفلسطينية على وجوب محاكمة مجرمي الحرب الاسرائيليين على كافة الجرائم التي ارتكبوها بحق الشعب الفلسطيني وتدعم كافة الجهود المبذولة في هذا المجال وتثمن كافة النشاطات التي تقوم بها النيابة العامة في توثيق الجرائم المرتكبة وتؤكد النيابة العامة على البدء باعداد ملفات لهذه الجرائم تمهيدا لتقديمها للجهات القضائية الدولية المختصة في المستقبل القريب.
  3. تؤكد النيابة العامة على انها مستمرة في عملية التطوير الاداري بما يحقق سرعة انجاز المعاملات الادارية، وانشاء نظام المتابعة والتنظيم الالكتروني، وربط النيابات الجزئية بخطة النيابة العامة الاستراتيجية مع الاستمرار في تطوير البنى التحتية وضمان استجابتها لحاجات النوع الاجتماعي وحقوق الانسان.
  4. تعميق الشراكة والتكامل مع كافة المؤسسات التعليمية والمجتمعية وغيرها من مؤسسات الدولة الحكومية وخاصة القضاء ووزارة العدل والامن والمحامين وسلطة النقد الفلسطينية وكافة الشركاء من خلال مذكرات التفاهم والمشاريع المشتركة بهدف تحقيق الخدمة الفضلى للمواطن وضمان وصول المواطنين الى العدالة بالسرعة القصوى وبما يمكّن النيابة العامة من تحقيق رسالتها لجميع فئات المجتمع، مما يؤدي الى رفع المستوى العلمي والعملي لجميع اعضائها.
  5. تؤكد النيابة العامة على اهمية التعاون الدولي في ملاحقة الجريمة بكافة اشكالها وانواعها وتطالب الحكومة الفلسطينية برفدها بالكادر المختص في هذا المجال
  6. تؤكد النيابة العامة على ضرورة الاسراع في اصدار قوانين عصرية تستجيب للتحديات التي تواجه المجتمع الفلسطيني وتساعد النيابة العامة في اجراء تحقيقاتها وملاحقة مرتكبيها وفي توفير كافة الامكانيات الفنية المتعلقة بالتحقيق وخاصة المختبرات اللازمة لفحص الادلة.
  7. تؤكد النيابة العامة على ضرورة الاستمرار في تعزيز العلاقة مع الشركاء من مجموعة عمل الجرائم المالية بما يعزز قدرات اعضائها في مكافحة هذا النوع من الجرائم الذي بات يشكل خطرا متزايدا على الاقتصاد الوطني وامن المجتمع الفلسطيني.

 

وفي ختام المؤتمر تنتهز النيابة العامة الفرصة لتقديم الشكر والعرفان لفخامة السيد الرئيس محمود عباس لدعمه اللامحدود ، ودولة رئيس مجلس الوزراء بتشريفنا بافتتاح اعمال المؤتمر مما يعكس رؤية الحكومة ورغبتها باستمرار دعم وتطوير قطاع العدالة ، وكذلك نقدم الشكر لمجلس القضاء الاعلى ممثلا بكامل اعضائه ، ووزارة العدل والجهات المانحة على دعمها المستمر للنيابة ( الحكومة الكندية عبر مشروع شراكة الكندي ، الحكومة الامريكية مكتب INL ، وزارة الخارجية ، مشروع دعم قطاع العدالة JSAP ، الشرطة الاوروبية ) وشكر خاص لبرنامج الامم المتحدة الانمائي UNDP لدعمهم فعاليات المؤتمر . وشكر خاص للدول العربية المملكة الاردنية الهاشمية ، المملكة المغربية وجمهورية مصر العربية ، الامارات العربية والمتحدة، ودولة البحرين ،.

 

صدر في اريحا بتاريخ 20/12/2014.

شكرا لكم،،،

 

                                                                    النائب العام

                                                      القاضي/ م. عبد الغني العويوي